6125 East 1175 North Road Bloomington, Illinois

Darnall's offers indoor and outdoor ranges (up to 300 yards!), classes, leagues and a full retail store with onsite gunsmiths.  Our family has been serving sportsmen since 1923!

309-379-4331

Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday: 9am - 9pm
Friday-Sunday: 9am - 6pm

Education & Training

Where Sportsmen Have Been Serving Sportsmen Since 1923

Darnall's Instructional Classes & Training

Instructional Classes Offered:

  • Basic Handgun Training
  • Beginning, Intermediate & Advanced Pistol Classes
  • Personal Protection & Home Defense Classes
  • Illinois Concealed Carry >>
  • NRA Instructor Classes
  • Illinois Hunter Safety Classes
  • Private Instruction: Pistol Rifle & Shotgun
  • NRA Youth Hunting & Shooting Camp
  • Youth Shooting Club meet once per month. Rifle, Shotgun, pistol
  • 20 Hr. Firearms Law Enforcement & Security Class
  • Law Enforcement/Security Firearm Re-Qualification available

Certified Staff:

Our instructors have taken countless hours of courses themselves and some are rated as master firearms instructor.

  • NRA Law Enforcement Instructor
  • NRA Instructors
  • NRA Training Counselor
  • Department of Natural Resource Instructors
  • Illinois Conceal Carry Certified Instructors

Basic Handgun Training

THIS IS A TWO PART CLASS USUALLY HELD ON TUESDAY & WEDNESDAY EVENINGS STARING AT 6 PM

The first night of the class covers safety, the operation of firearms and ammunition, proper shooting techniques

On the second night of the class there is a review of proper shooting techniques and dry firing

Then the shooting portion of class will start with a .22 target pistol It is accurate and it has low recoil, this lets the instructors help you adjust your shooting style

You will then shoot a 9mm pistol and a 38 spl revolver. this lets you try the main types of handguns - revolver and semi automatic

The cost for the class is $135.00
You need to call 309-379-4331 to check on scheduling a class as we have a maximum of 5 students in a class

Darnall's Firearms Safety Training Group

Concealed Carry is now legal in the State of Illinois!

The instructors at Darnall’s have been approved by the Illinois State Police as Certified Illinois Concealed Carry Instructors and the Darnall’s Firearms Training Group curriculum has been approved!

Darnall’s instructors are highly trained with many years of practical experience.
Sue Darnall has been recognized by the NRA as one of the top female instructors in the country.

When you choose Darnall’s Certified Firearms Instructors to train you for an Illinois Concealed Carry Class, you know that you are getting a highly qualified instructor. You can be confident that you will be given the training to provide you with the skills, knowledge, and attitude to defend yourself and your family.

The training will consist of the following:

  • Firearm Safety
  • Firearm Marksmanship
  • Firearm Care and Maintenance
  • State and Federal Laws
  • Firearm Handling

Concealed Carry Classes are offered at Darnall’s

Darnall’s Firearms Training Group is now offering both the full 16 hour training for the Illinois License to Carry as well as an 8 hour class for those who have been approved for the first 8 hour credit.

***Darnall’s does not offer 12 hour classes for those with only 4 hour credits***

How do I qualify to get my Illinois Concealed Carry Permit?

The State of Illinois requires a minimum of 16 hours of training in order to obtain a concealed carry permit. The state also allows up to 8 hours credit if you qualify for any of the following situations:

  1. Certification from one of the following approved courses:
    • Illinois Hunter Safety Course ...............................4 hours
    • Chicago Firearms Safety Course ..........................4 hours
    • NRA Basic Pistol ....................................................8 hours
    • NRA Personal Protection in the Home.................8 hours
    • NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home ......8 hours

    Credit Validation Requirement: Training Certificate or Card

     

  2. Military Service to include one of the following:
    • Active Duty………………………………………...…………8 hours
    • Reserves……………………………………………….………8 hours
    • Honorably Discharged………………….………..………8 hours
    • Retired……………………………………………………....…8 hours

    Credit Validation Requirement: Active Military ID and DF Form 214

     

  3. Valid permit from one of the following approved states:
    • Utah Concealed Carry............................................4 hours
    • Florida Concealed Carry .......................................4 hours
    • Nevada Concealed Carry ......................................4 hours
    • Missouri Concealed Carry ....................................4 hours
    • Kentucky Concealed Carry ...................................4 hours
    • Michigan Concealed Carry ...................................4 hours

    Credit Validation Requirement: Training Certificate

     

Note: Valid permit credit is based on the course required to receive the permit and not by the number of permits you possess. Presentation of the permit alone will not be an acceptable form of validation.

***Darnall’s Firearms Training Group will require students to provide proof of prior training or military status. Darnall’s also reverses the right to determine what credit will be given to the student based on the standards outline by the State of Illinois***

What are Darnall’s Registration and Equipment Requirements for an Illinois Concealed Carry Class?

16 Hour Class Requirements
  • 16 Hour Class
  • At least 21 years of age
  • Valid FOID Card
  • Experience with the firearm being used in the class
  • Understanding basic firearm safety
  • Understanding basic function of firearm
  • Functional Firearm
  • 225-250 Rounds of Ammo (No steel or Aluminum)
  • Two Magazines or Speed Loaders
  • Magazine or Speed Loader pouch
  • Ear and Eye Protection
  • Clothing (Shirt, Vest or Jacket) suitable for firearm concealment
  • Firearm Holster designed for the firearm
  • ***Holsters may not be worn beyond 3:00 for right-handers and 9:00 for left-handers***
Students will not be allowed admittance into the class without:
  1. A functioning/Concealable Firearm
  2. An approved holster made for your firearm (see list above)
  3. Clothing suitable for a conceal carry environment
8 Hour Class Requirements

Same as 16 hour class except you will only need 150 rounds of ammunition and documents

Course Tuition:

16 hour Class - $250 per person

8 Hour Class - $150 per person

Class fee Includes lunch

Registration Requirements:
  • Payment in Full
  • Copy of FOID card and Drivers License
  • Registration form

If requesting 8 hours credit:

  • Copy of training Certificate or Card from approved courses
  • Copy of training Certificate from approved State Permit
  • Copy of Military ID or DD Form 214

Interested individuals can contact Darnall’s at (309) 379-4331 for class schedules and available dates.